RSS

Dear Pastry: Beignets

07 Dec

Image

Beignets are doughnuts; dessert from the south and fried in a deep fryer and covered with powder sugar. These southern doughnuts are  crispy and sweet on outside and soft and chewy on the inside that in my opinion they are better than the original donuts you buy at stores. 

Beignets (pronounced Ben YAY with the accent on the second syllable) is French for “fried dough”. In the U.S. it is a pastry made from deep-fried dough, much like a doughnut, and sprinkled with confectioner’s sugar, or frosting  Beignets are also popular as an appetizer, with fillings such as maple or fruit preserves.

They are a popular donut at Mardi Gras in New Orleans. (source from http://kitchenproject.com/history/MardiGras/Beignet/index.htm) 

And we made this for our multicultural food class and everyone enjoyed and we couldn’t stop ourselves form eating and soon we ran out 🙂 At first I thought it would be really bad but turned out it’s lot better and delicious than I though it would be and the Beignets went really well with coffee and tea. It just made my day and I tried to make it at home but I couldn’t find any yeast..ugh.. But hope to make them someday and eat it with my families and friends. 

Recipe:  http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/paula-deen/french-quarter-beignets-recipe/index.html (I think foodnetwork has really good recipes so I mostly use it from them). 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on December 7, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “Dear Pastry: Beignets

  1. food

    December 12, 2012 at 4:24 pm

    Excellent post. I used to be checking continuously this weblog and I am inspired! Extremely useful info particularly the last section 🙂 I handle such information a lot. I was looking for this particular information for a very long time. Thanks and best of luck.

     

Leave a Reply

 
